trolleys.jpg

This is the photo that got shortlisted.

I took this photo of the River Tawe. Swansea is a beautiful place to live, surrounded by rolling green hills on one side and the beach on the other. As part of a college project I took a walk by the river to try and capture the natural beauty of the area whilst also looking at pattern and reflection. I looked into the river to see the reflection of the riverbank and saw the trolleys instead. I was shocked and saddened. My immediate reaction was to feel sorry for the trolleys, it seemed as if I was looking at a trolley graveyard.

Littering and its effect on our environment is something I’m concerned about. Pollution and global warming are common topics of conversation everywhere but most people look at the bigger picture without seeing what is right under their noses. It was only by chance that I looked into the murky water in front of me and was able to take this emotive image.

Leave a comment